1956 was a very good year……..

Teal starting producing the first non stick frying pan!

Sony exported it’s first product to Canada – a transistor radio

Video recorder first invented

Elvis Presley released his first hit Heartbreak hotel

Premium Bonds were first introduced to encourage saving….

Black and White portable TV first appears in the shops

Average House Price £2280

Petrol cost 5s 4d (6p a litre)

And it costs 1s 6d (7.5p) to go to the cinema!

And today, 60 years ago,  I made my appearance on Tuesday 31st January 1956

image

……..meaning I can now get my rail card which will save me and everyone who covers my expenses for travelling up and down the country, a fortune!
I had a fabulous evening on Saturday with Sarah and Gemma – how can I be 60? How time flies……….

Guess who......my favourite pastime on the beach was digging for the sea.....
Guess who……my favourite pastime on the beach was digging for the sea…..
A wonderful meal last night with my 2 most wonderful daughters, Sarah and Gemma and their 2, equally significant others!, Adam and Stuart - a very happy bunny in the middle........😊
A wonderful meal last night with my 2 most wonderful daughters, Sarah and Gemma and their 2, equally significant others!, Adam and Stuart – a very happy bunny in the middle……..😊
About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

12 thoughts on “1956 was a very good year……..

  1. Happy Birthday Wendy! (I am just wondering why you are only now eligible for a rail card. Surely you were eligible for a disabled person’s rail card which offers the same discount.)

    Like

      1. Another ridiculous anomaly in the system! People with epilepsy who, to all intents and purposes, look “good” on the outside, get them. Hopefully things will change in the fullness of time. Meanwhile, happy travelling with your well-earned discount! x

        Liked by 1 person

  2. A very Happy Birthday Wendy and hoping you enjoy the rest of your day. Happy travelling- that could be a whole new blog- the ups and downs of travelling by train!! Best wishes Sarah

    Like

Leave a Reply

