Making new contacts……….

Yesterday I met up with Emma Williams – Dementia Action Alliance Co-ordinator for the East Riding. She kindly met me at the station and drove me to the Alzheimer’s society office in Beverley where she’s based.

We had a few things to catch up on, but none more so than a brilliant map she’d put together for me😊.We have been places together and I was having trouble working out where they were in relation to where I knew in my new town.

It would also be useful for me to plot bus routes onto as well, so we also agreed for her to make contact with her local bus company contact to see if such a map exists and more important, if not, why not……………😡

We also met to discuss how we can contact other people with dementia and possibly their carers in Beverley and surrounding area in order to set up our own group. The aim of the group would be for mutual support but also to challenge local services in the area. East Riding seems a particularly difficult area to encourage people with dementia to come together. Many things have been tried in the past apparently but all failed. If everyone out in this area is happy with their lot, then that would be fine, however, if people are isolated and would like support, then that’s tragic. Fingers crossed, this time will be different….

We also talked about the ongoing work we’re involved with at Beverley Community Hospital. They’re launching the Butterfly scheme there and are first of all holding a staff engagement event before inviting the public, which is brill. We must have staff on board and fully aware so that they have the confidence and knowledge to answer questions from the public………

So much to do, so little time………….

image

 

In the afternoon I went to a meeting of Beverley U3A (University of the third age) – just for me and unrelated to dementia for a change! In this country there are now over 900 U3A groups, with a total membership of around 320,000. Beverley has a membership of around 450, which seems amazing to me and around 250-300 attended the first meeting of the year today!
The term “university” in this context is taken to mean a community of people learning together purely for enjoyment – nothing to do with University really!
The talk today was on Lawrence Sterne’s “Tristram Shandy” ………..never heard of him before today but the speaker was a great public speaker and the talk was fascinating.
With it being my first time there, I didn’t want to get my iPad out and start tapping away throughout so have totally forgotten the detail, but it was very good……..maybe next time. More detail can be found:

http://www.u3a.org.uk/

When I got back home I was busy filling in my calendar with other stuff when I came across a talk I’m giving with Natalie Gordon in October………..to York U3A……….what a bizarre coincidence….👍 I immediately emailed Emma from the morning meeting and suggested she got in touch with the Beverley Branch in case they had room for us to do a double act at one of their meetings as the age range is perfect………you never know……

image

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

Leave a Reply

