Carols by Candlelight – Part 2!

So following on from Friday’s blog…….

The Carol concert got underway the choir walking down the centre aisle singing ‘Once in Royal David’s city’ which is one of my favourite carols. The choir was amazing throughout the evening.

The choir - Vasari Singers
The choir – Vasari Singers

Ruth welcomed everyone and then set the scene with a reading on behalf of Sir Michael Parkinson.

After every singing ‘Silent night’, it was my turn after being introduced by Ruth. I’d written and re written my side of A4 (as I know that’s 5minutes worth of reading) many times as it’s difficult to say what you want in 5 minutes exactly. It also had to be the right tone for the evening. Anyway, I think I got it right and had lots of kind comments afterwards.

Taken before the concert started
Taken before the concert started

Further down the line it was the turn of the wonderful group from Singing for the Brain. Some of the members never spoke in everyday life but sang songs quite happily – just goes to show the power of music. One chappie was very animated and happy and whistled his merry tune throughout. It was wonderful and very moving.

Singing for the Brain from Wandsworth
Singing for the Brain from Wandsworth

The celebrities each did their own reading. Hugh Dennis was very funny.

After a particularly brilliant song by the choir, one man from Singing for the Brain group, who rarely spoke in everyday life stood up and thanked everyone – it was so moving and yet sooo good to see that no-one battered an eyelid. Everyone clapped and Ruth Langsford, asked his name and then thanked him for his words. Just showed that she understands dementia and was the moment of the evening for me.

We sang lots of my favourite carols and before we knew it, the time was over. We stayed at the front for a while to let the crowds disperse for mulled wine and mince pies. Ruth gave me and Gemma a hug and said goodbye. We headed out, only to find Jeremy Hughes drawing the raffle………the Flight Centre had donated vouchers……….Stuart won! He did buy a bucket full of tickets, I hasten to add, so he didn’t feel too bad. He’s now deciding where to go…….Gemma is now deciding where they’ll go….🎅

What a way to end the evening. The taxi arrived to take us back to the hotel and at last it had stopped raining and the journey back was a very jolly one, looking at all the street lights. Harrodsburg looked particularly spectatcular……………Thank you Alzheimer’s society for another WOW day….

Harrods through the taxi window!
Harrods all lit up through the taxi window!

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

4 thoughts on “Carols by Candlelight – Part 2!

  1. Thanks for your kind words about the choir – we all enjoyed (and were moved by) the evening too! Great to see so many people supporting such a worthy charity.
    I hope you and your family have a very happy Christmas, and wish you every happiness for 2016

    Like

Leave a Reply

