Alzheimer’s Society Candelight Carol Concert – Knightsbridge

Following on from yesterday’s blog, the evening was the main event for me on Tuesday. It was the Alzheimer’s society Carol’s by Candlelight concert at St Paul’s Church in Knightsbridge. Carol services are being held all around the country but I’d been asked to speak at this one.

image

I’d been fortunate enough to be able to have Gemma (my youngest daughter) and her partner Stuart with me. It was a shocking evening weather wise but our spirits were high and we were so looking forward to the evening. The taxi seemed to take forever through the London rush hour traffic. I’d been asked to get there early for a rehearsal and it also meant arriving at a quiet time which was good.

The rain was heaving down as we pulled up outside St Pauls in Knightsbridge but the marquee they’d erected at the front allowed us to get in quickly out of the rain. I was met by Janet Cotton and Susan Quach from the special events team and shown to the front of the church where we’d be sitting.

Me, Gemma and Stuart:)
Me, Gemma and Stuart:)

The church inside looked amazing and it was very peaceful before all the crowds arrived.

image

We took lots of photos by the tree and had lots of photos taken by the official photographer. Also there was the Singing for the Brain Group from Wandsworth who were also given a chance to practice and settle in well before the start of the event.

Four celebrities were due to do reading and when they’d all arrived we all had photos taken round the tree. The lovely Ruth Langsford from ‘This Morning’ said hello and actually remembered meeting me and my other daughter Sarah when we appeared on the programme in the summer, which was lovely.

Celebrities and ambassadors Hugh Dennis, Ruth Langsford, me, Sir Tony Robinson and Lesley Manville OBE.
Celebrities and ambassadors Hugh Dennis, Ruth Langsford, me, Sir Tony Robinson and Lesley Manville OBE.

The church was chocca – 600-700 people I think. Sir Michael Parkinson was due to open the event but was too ill to attend so Ruth started the celebration event with his words. It was set to become a very joyous, emotional and moving evening…….

More to follow on Monday…………

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

Leave a Reply

