New Playmates in East Riding

Yesterday I met a new playmate in my new area. Emma Williams is the DAA (Dementia Action Alliance) Coordinator for the East Riding. She is based at the Alzheimer society office in Beverley. We’d been in touch for a while by email but yesterday we finally met.

DAA is housed by the Alzheimer society in London – but they don’t own it  as they have to become a member as well – its fully independent and it’s aim is to reduce the stigma and increase awareness. It’s completely free for businesses to join. Emma has done a great job encouraging businesses and organisations to join but there’s still a long way to go.

Emma kindly agreed to pick me up and drive me to the local offices so I could meet everyone who was around.Due to the weirdness of funding Emma is on a short term contract with the Alzheimer society – Hull, however, has it’s own DAA but not related to the Alzheimer Society……..

When will we get away from this mixed bag of confusing services????Surely organisations need to get together and work together to get the best out of resources and expertise available?

Anyway, we got to the office and met some of the staff.

My new friend Emma outside the Alzheimer Society offices in Beverley
My new friend Emma outside the Alzheimer Society offices in Beverley

We met a few people and someone kindly made me a cuppa – always a good move😊.

Emma filled me in on things she’d achieved in the year she’s been in post. She’s been involved in some amazing and very inventive ways of raising awareness of dementia in the area.

One such project was the ‘Remember me’ Art trail in Beverley – 10 shops displayed art donated free and members of the public had to find them – on the other side was a tiny bit about DAA  in order to connect it with dementia. Brilliant idea!

Early next year Emma is trying to organise a  dementia related photo exhibition/photography competition. She runs a Steering group in East riding – DIGER (Great Acronym!)– Dementia Involvement Group East Riding – where 10 volunteers meet every 2 months  to decide what they can do next.

image

They have a Facebook page and are on Twitter @East_Riding_DAA

Graham Stuart  is the local Conservative MP  (I won’t hold that against him just yet….).
Me and Emma are to go together to his next surgery and convince him to join the East Riding DAA as then other businesses may follow suit.

We talked about so many other things but sadly our time came to an end and I had to leave.

It was a good start to my new connections in the East – looooads to do but at least it’s a start……

image

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

2 thoughts on “New Playmates in East Riding

Leave a Reply

