Missing out……

I’m having to turn down or pull out of so many interesting projects due to moving house. I naively thought I’d be able to do as much as before and cope with having moved……wrong….

The biggest was having to turn down an offer from Professor Tim Kendall to be part of the ‘Achieving Better Access to Mental Health Services by 2020 –Dementia care services’ Expert Reference Group. The National Collaborating Centre for Mental Health (NCCMH) has been commissioned by NICE to undertake and complete the objectives set by NHS England to Achieve Better Access to Dementia Care Services by 2020. The first meeting was due in January. I’m gutted to have to turn it down but it would have meant an overnight stay in London beginning in January and then several meetings following on from that. The improvements I’m having in the house are all starting in January and it would just be too stressful to try to juggle dates for workmen and being away from home.
I’ve already agreed to a handful of things in January and this one sadly came too late…….
I also pulled out of attending a Dementia Friends forum this weekend but that was due to having run out of steam.

I’m not use to saying no and missing out on opportunities but guess I’ll just have to be patient. Come the spring, I’m sure I’ll be back to being busy again……..and in the mean time it means I get more time to spend with my daughters …………and Billy……….😊

image

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

2 thoughts on “Missing out……

  1. I really do feel for you, I still haven’t got my act together and I moved in May! Do take things slowly and accept all the help you can get, you will sort yourself out but it can take a long time and is exhausting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

