Combined project with Bradford Uni and Leeds Beckett Uni.

Yesterday I ventured to Bradford Uni from my new home (I’ll eventually stop calling it my new home, but the novelty may last some time!). The village bus doesn’t start running until later so I had to get a taxi to the station (I’m used to walking and not having to rely on people being on time……) Luckily Gemma had warned me that the taxis are always late so I booked it earlier than I needed to and low and behold, it arrived late but perfectly on time due to my booking – don’t understand the logic of taxis always being late…………. Bizarrely I have to go East to Hull before I can go West to Bradford – hence the picture of the Humber Bridge below. However, Gemma has reminded me of another route which I’ll try next time which involves starting at a different station……..

The new view on my train journey😊
The new view on my train journey😊

This time it was for 2 meetings – both related but wearing different hats.

The first was with the Project Management Group for the:

“What Works? – Dementia Training and Education”.

It’s being funded by Health Education England me thinks. I’m representing the patient by experience. It’s the first one I’ve been able to attend. I believe they’re trying to assess the best training methods within healthcare settings with regards to dementia. The aim is to try and find out what’s happening around the training of care staff currently, what, if any training, they’re currently receiving and what can be improved. The project is in the early stages and has involvement from people affected by dementia. That’s where the second meeting fits in as I’m also on that panel. They’re using our experience and examples to help with the project.

The lovely Andrea Capstick had asked me to be involved. It was attended by many new faces to me but also some lovely familiar ones . I finally met Professor Claire Surr from Leeds Beckett University – we know each other from Twitterland.😊 From Bradford there was Jan, Sahdia and Andrea.
They went through what had been achieved so far and were due to meet with the ethics committee that afternoon to gain approval😨

Case studies would be sites/organisations that currently offer most of the competencies currently. in their training regime. They want to find best practice to bring all the good bits together that’s currently out there.

The first part has been to ask Healthcare organisations from all sectors to complete a survey detailing what they currently have for their staff in the way of training re dementia.
Twitter has also been used to promote the study and to get it to the right organisations and people

I’m part of the project team but the ‘ patients by experience’ panel will be involved at various point along the way to advise and comment.

I’m not sure how much I was able to contribute or how valuable my input was at this meeting but it was good to see how projects are put together and their trials and successes
Andrea kindly sorted out lunch for me before the next meeting – the focus panel.

There were 7 of us and Andrea. There were 6 carers and me. ………
Andrea had developed 4 scenarios based on the poor experience examples we’d given at a previous meeting – A&E, care home, Gp and BME example and a set of bench marking statements that could be used to measure the benefits staff would receive through better training
Andrea again stressed that the aim of the project is to Improve training on looking after someone with dementia in all types of healthcare settings.

One of the group commented that:

“If people with dementia were treated with dignity and respect it can lead to many other things happening correctly”

I came away thinking we hadn’t achieved very much today but we are at the early stages of the project so maybe it’s just my impatient mind working overtime.

My journey back went pear shaped – I was due to catch 3 trains and 1 bus home. It went pear shaped on the second train which was delayed by 30 mins and then 2 trains were displayed on the same platform😱…..The train was full and some thought it was the Hull train and others got on thinking it was the Middlesborough train – my first thought was ‘is it me or them who are on the wrong train’…………luckily for me it was them. However the delay did mean that I’d miss my connection in Hull but the train guard helped me work out another train.
During all the chaos Gemma rang me to ask where I was on the journey………I looked out of the window and replied….”Havn’t a clue”
Of course, the unfamiliarity of the journey means that I havn’t worked out landmarks yet or the order of stations etc. I asked the man next to me where we were…..(strange looks followed, but he told me) and the upshot was that Stuart could pick me up if I got off at the next station as he was in that area – result!

Not having much luck with travel to my new home……….

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

Leave a Reply

