Unexpected challenges on moving

Well, here I am – back again. The lack of blogs last week was due to the sheer volume of ‘stuff’ and the fact that I was all out of routine after moving. I needed to find my equilibrium again and I think I’m almost there……….

When I moved, I naively thought labelling the boxes, specifying where the contents had lived before, would help me when unpacking……….wrong……..😳

For example, I marked one box ‘ contents of cupboard under microwave’, but as soon as they were packed I’d forgotten what was in the cupboard under the microwave😱 So I was just faced with boxes with no knowledge of what was inside. At least I’d marked which room they were from and also ‘needed’ or ‘not needed’, so I knew which needed opening first. I’d even marked one box, ‘Open this box first’. which was very fortuitous as it held the kettle, cups and tea!

image

With the rest I’d tried to convince myself that it would be like Christmas with a surprise in each box, just to make it less overwhelming. I’ve just about unpacked them all (never was any good at saving Christmas pressies….)

I’d arranged for the phone and internet to be switched on at 4pm on moving day. This was key as the mobile signal in the village is almost non existent. Sadly East Yorkshire only has one company that supplies the area – KC Communication. No other company has ventured into Humberside so there is no choice and no competition for services. Now I’m all for using local service – I always use local services where I can – but I still expect a good service.

The phone didn’t get connected when agreed. Luckily I had Gemma in the village and when I rang from her house they said it would be 10 days before anyone could come out, which is appalling service for anyone to accept. It took me a few minutes of explaining my situation which eventually led them to sort out someone for 4 days instead. In my book that’s still a poor service, especially when I done everything I should beforehand.

However, Tuesday came and the engineer duly turned up on time and was wonderful. He even connected my iPad to the internet. He learnt all about dementia in the hour he was with me (😊) and understood why there’s a need for vulnerable people to have a better service than I received. He was more knowledgeable when he left than when he arrived and I can only hope he’ll talk to others about it.

Being without any form of communication was very unsettling. I know in this day and age most of us expect to have instant access to others. However, that wouldn’t have worried me in the past. But this time it was unsettling because I felt vulnerable, not because I didn’t have access to others in the social setting but because it felt confusing and frightening in a strange place.

More on the move tomorrow………

Billy getting snug in his new box.....
Billy getting snug in his new box…..

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

One thought on “Unexpected challenges on moving

  1. Wendy I think you’ve raised a very important point here, it should be possible (on request) for customers to have notes on their file to say ‘living with dementia’ to get considerate treatment – similar to Green Flag who give priority to stranded female motorists.
    Hope the move works out for you Wendy anyway.

    Like

Leave a Reply

