Moving Day – surprisingly smooth adventure……

Well it finally happened – I’m here in my new house🏡👍👏👏👏

Last Friday was moving day and things went amazingly smoothly. The removal men appeared at 8.30 and had packed all my possessions into their van within the hour. Gemma arrived just after the removal men and we sat and planned the day while the men huffed and puffed around us…………😊

They went off, having left their mobile for me to contact once we had the keys, and the plan was then for me and Gem to walk into town, hand in the keys and then wait for how ever many hours for the phone call to say keys could be exchanged – we were expecting a long wait……

No sooner had we come out of the estate agents, having handed in our keys, that Emma, who we had seen minutes before, rang us and said:

“You won’t believe this, but the sale has gone through, now we just need to wait for the purchase” 😳

Well, the speed of that shocked us both into relief……We’d walked another hundred yards towards home and my phone rang again…..it was the solicitor – sale and purchase had happened and I could pick up the keys😱. We hadn’t even walked to town and back and everything had gone through – amazing! We’d been told to expect it to take hours. We were in such shock that we decided to drive to the village and have a cuppa at Gemma’s to recover before ringing the removal men.

"She's here!!! Put the kettle on Stuart!
“She’s here!!! Put the kettle on Stuart!

The move in went just as smoothly. The lovely people I’d bought from met me at the house and handed over the keys and talked me through things. The removal men unpacked in super quick time as it meant an early Friday finish. A person delivering the village newsletter welcomed me to the village – I’d finally done it, I’d arrived………

We made my bed up, found the kettle, then me and Gemma took one look at the mountain of boxes, looked at one another and I said……….

“Let’s go back to yours for the evening and think about them tomorrow”

Stuart walked me back to my house that evening. I’d left the noise and hub bub of York in the morning and all I could hear now were the leaves rustling on the trees…….perfect😊

I use to look out onto a main road - now I have this outside my front window............
I use to look out onto a main road – now I have this outside my front window…………

I’ve written this blog at Gemma’s because the price I pay for having moved into this lovely village is that KC communications have a monopoly on phone and internet and they messed up my installation. I’m without phone, internet or a mobile (mobile blackspot!). Their customer service is so rubbish that they were expecting me to wait 10 days for an engineer visit…….😱, however, after I explained things to them they’re now due tomorrow – I just hope they turn up and get things sorted.

So no more blogs sadly until they do get me sorted as today is Gemma’s last day off – and it’s her birthday!

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

7 thoughts on “Moving Day – surprisingly smooth adventure……

  1. Very much enjoy reading your blogs and sharing some on my Facebook page. So glad your move went well and hoping you’ll soon be ‘up and running’ with your phone etc. Very best wishes Sarah Ebelewicz

    Like

Leave a Reply

