Media photographs

I don’t mind saying ‘yes’ to media photographs because it means I get some nice ones to keep to give to Sarah and Gemma.

Recently I’ve had 2 photographers come to the house. One for the Telegraph and one regarding the DEEP project.

We were (that’s the royal ‘we’ as the girls don’t like photos taken….) very excited about the Telegraph man as he was here to take photos of me and the girls. I have so few photos of the 3 of us that I was hoping they would send us some……….He was here for nearly 2 hours and must have taken over 1000. Most were taken outside so the passersby were very amused.

However, sadly we havn’t received any copies, even after the reporter requested them so that was really disappointing. This is the one that was online for the article but I would have liked other copies…..

image

In complete contrast, a couple of days later I had a great happy visit from photographer Jo Hanley who seemed to be touring the country taking photos for the wonderful Rachael Litherland from ‘Innovations in Dementia’. They’re  putting together some picture profiles of people with dementia on the DEEP website. They wanted it to be a collection of personal reflections by different people with dementia – about what has happened in terms of involvement over the last number of years. They are speaking with people who’ve been involved for over 10 years as well as people who have been involved in more recently, like myself. They want to share the big story of how much work people with dementia do. So the wonderful Nada Savitch came to collect my words one day and Jo the photos on another occasion.

When she arrived I had to admit that I’d forgotten why she was coming to take photos…….She arrived extremely organised with all the paraphernalia that seems to travel with photographers – she was wonderful and so nice and professional
Check out her wonderful web site www.johanley.com for some amazing photos she’s taken in the past, I especially like the Landscapes. What a wonderful job to have – maybe I should have thought of that one 20 years ago……😎📷

Nice one of my iPad and flowers😎
Nice one of my iPad and flowers by Jo😎

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

2 thoughts on “Media photographs

Leave a Reply

