Final trip to Leeds Medical school.

Last Monday saw me at Leeds Medical school for another dementia friends session. This week my playmate was Sharon Roscoe, who teaches the students about patient communication.
Ruth, my partner in crime from a couple of weeks ago, kindly offered to meet me at the entrance again.
We were expecting 17 students this time and 17 students arrived! I usually reveal that I have Alzheimers at the end of the session, but the first student who arrived asked if I was Wendy from the blog………..so my plans were scuppered this week!
Instead I revealed after the initial questioning of ‘What words spring to mind when you hear the word dementia’? I then proceeded to tell them that although I might seem ancient in their eyes, I am in fact quite young in the grand scheme of things……..

They were a very quiet bunch and certainly a lot quieter than the first group we had. However, as I said before, they hadn’t volunteered to attend, they’d been told to attend so their attitude was very different. Maybe knowing I had dementia also made them reluctant to ask questions – that’s the main reason why I usually tell people at the end.

Or maybe they were just students who had just had lunch so would really have preferred to be chilling out somewhere esle………they were still lovely nevertheless….

Never the less, they all signed up to be dementia friends and all agreed to having their photo taken. It was the last of the sessions and between us we’d created about 200 new dementia friends in the last 3 weeks so I’m a happy bunny….

The latest dementia friends.....
The latest dementia friends…..

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

One thought on “Final trip to Leeds Medical school.

Leave a Reply

