Why I now need to move house……

Many people have asked me if it’s wise for me to have taken the decision to move house so today I thought I’d tell you why…….

image

I’m only 59 and I live alone, so having retired early leaves me without an income as I don’t get my state pension for eons……I used all my lump sum of pension to pay off my mortgage so am left with a minimal nhs pension. This means that all my money is tied up in my house. My house isn’t entirely dementia friendly and needs a bit spending on it for the future, so I need to release capital…….are you still with me….?

I also live on a main road into the city and the noise has just got too much. My earplugs help when I’m out and about but I don’t find ambling into the city a joy anymore – I need a more peaceful existence.

Not that peaceful Billy.........
Not that peaceful Billy………

Anyway, I felt there was this small window of opportunity during which I could cope with selling a house and moving. So my thoughts then went along the lines that if I could sell within 3 months, I would move. Everything then happened very quickly and within the month I find myself having sold and waiting to move😱 ‘Waiting’ seems to be the key word here as nothing ever seems to go speedy in the world of buying and selling houses and mine, even though it’s straight forward, appears to be going at a snails pace……..

image

I’m in the process of buying a house in a very friendly village that I can alter to suit me. I suppose I’m making living better now and planning for the future all in one go.I fell in love with the village when my daughter Gemma and Stuart moved there but I had to make sure I felt comfortable living there in case they decide to move in the future – and I do.

I’m very excited. I’ll have Gemma, my daughter, and her partner Stuart, not to mention Billy, right on my doorstep. I’ll be moving away from one daughter and moving closer to the other! But we’re all within a car drive away and I’ll still be near a main line station!

"I'm sure I can see Wendy's new house from here!"
“I’m sure I can see Wendy’s new house from here!”

No one tells you to consider all these things when you’re diagnosed, especially if you live alone and especially if diagnosed with young dementia but you may have such a small window of opportunity…………..so much more needs to be done to inform people before it’s too late……

So everyone crosss your fingers please that it all goes through soon as nothing is ever certain until it actually happens for real…..

I’ll be sad to leave York  as I thought I was living in my forever home but it’s only a bus ride away and I have big plans for the village…………….they’re not aware of that fact yet………😎

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

12 thoughts on “Why I now need to move house……

  1. Good luck Wendy. I wish you all the best for you move, and hope that things speed along shortly. Kind regards Sue x I have been following your blog for a few weeks by the way

    Like

  2. House move sounds like a very good move to me. Is the NHS like teaching…ie..you lose 5% for each early year? I’ll have fingers crossed that all goes smoothly for you and as stress free as house buying/selling can be…..and that you do indeed take your village by storm 😃. Look forward to hearing how it’s all going.

    Like

Leave a Reply

