Alzheimer’s Show at Olympia

Well the Alzheimer’s show has now been and gone. It was a really warm day in London. I got to Olympia no problem and immediately got lost inside finding the cloakroom but the staff had obviously been primed for people like me and kindly took me back in the direction I’d just come……….I was off to see friends for the weekend afterwards so was laden with suitcase – obviously the first thing I did was set my alarm to remind me a) to leave in plenty of time for my train and b) to pick up my suitcase!!
I immediately found the Join Dementia Research stand and took a picture of the mini queue with Andrea doing a grand job getting them to sign on – I reckon I did a good job of boxing them in so they couldn’t escape until they’d signed on the dotted line…….

image
Then went and took photos for tweeting of the Alzheimer’s Society stand and Alzheimer research stand.

image

image
I went into the theatre and saw a few talks followed by question and answer session. Very good one by Hilda Hayo from Dementia UK who highlighted that services for those with young dementia were severely lacking – yup…..
Jeremy Hughes CEO of Alzheimer’s Society spoke of his concern that money for the NHS has been ringfenced but social care money hasn’t – I’m sure he’ll be tasking Mr Cameron with clarifying that one……
CQC person announced that, after tender applications, the CQC will work with people with early onset dementia on their CQC visits – very good news. Will definitely look out for that request for volunteers as I’d love to be involved in that……

Mary from the memory app was there manning her stand with her son so had a quick catch up and then left her to demonstrate the app to willing listeners.
Many interesting stands and came away with lots of leaflets and freebies – especially happy with brain shaped stress ball!
I finally got to meet Chris Roberts, another person with dementia who was speaking at the event on the Saturday. I’d noticed he’d retweeted one of my tweets so knew he must be in the same talk. I went and said hello after the talk and he was with another prolific tweeter, Dr Shibley but didn’t get a chance to say hello as he was busy chatting . Both are good friends of the wonderful Kate Swaffer who is now over here visiting from Australia  – very excited to be meeting her in July….

Another great time had……happy days:)

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

7 thoughts on “Alzheimer’s Show at Olympia

  1. Give our love to Kate Swaffer when you see her , we met at the Taiwan adi, you,ll love her she has two cats !!! Veronica and christopher. (The cats arn,t called Veronica and. Christopher !!! )

    Like

    1. … and the helpful reminders; ” immediately got lost inside finding the cloakroom but the staff had obviously been primed for people like me and kindly took me back in the direction I’d just come……….I was off to see friends for the weekend afterwards so was laden with suitcase – obviously the first thing I did was set my alarm to remind me a) to leave in plenty of time for my train and b) to pick up my suitcase!!” LOL Gotta figure out how the reminder system works for my new cell phone 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

