Mixed messages

We’re forever getting mixed messages from the media about diet and lifestyle……what’s good to eat and what’s not……well some weeks ago saw the situation occur re dementia when the Lancet revealed its findings from a study showing underweight people were more likely to get dementia than overweight and obese people. This is contrary to previous findings. Such differing findings only leads to more confusion amongst the public. The confusion shows the need for more money to be spent on research – we surely need to avoid such mixed confused messages.

Great new advert by Alzheimers Research UK launched recently stressing the need for far more research – take a minute to view:

http://www.alzheimersresearchuk.org

I go along with the statement released by Dr Doug Brown from the Alzheimer’s society in response to the article when he said:

‘This mixed picture highlights the difficulty of conducting studies into the complex lifestyle risk factors for dementia and reinforces the need for further research so we can identify the most important risk factors. While the evidence on body weight and dementia is unclear, we know that people can make positive lifestyle choices to keep their brains healthy by taking regular exercise, not smoking and following a healthy balanced diet.’

It only goes to show how far behind we are in finding new treatments, care and preventions for dementia. It far lags behind that of cancer research and we need to catch up. Since the launch, Join Dementia Research has almost ,7000 people volunteer, however we need far more, especially from people with dementia. There’s really no value to extra funds being made available for research if we don’t have willing volunteers to try out new theories. As soon as we start a trial we as an individual are then locked into that trial and unable to take part in other clinical trials so many many more people are needed.
If you know someone with dementia, talk to them about Join Dementia Research and if necessary help them log into the database to find out more or ring ARUK or Alzheimer society if you prefer questions answered over the phone.

Take a look at the new Join Dementia Research YouTube video

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=BRbpXJ5WCLI

https://www.joindementiaresearch.nihr.ac.uk

logo2

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

Leave a Reply

