Poem: Post Retirement

I used to have a title
I used to have a team
I used to have purpose
To have time was just a dream

Now I’m retired
My brain no longer full
Of all things work related
Now there’s space in my brain to fill

I used to have a time each day
A time for tasks and greetings
I use to feel the stress each day
preparing for all those meetings

But now the days are mine
My brain no longer full
The time I have to think
The time I have to fill

I thought I’d miss the hustle
The draining of the brain
But now my time is filled
Doing exactly what I want each day

I notice now the sunshine
I notice now the rain
I notice how the peacefulness
Can now fill my brain

Bliss………just need more time to enjoy it!!

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

4 thoughts on “Poem: Post Retirement

  1. Loved this, Wendy – your positivity! Like you, we’ve been surprised how, since diagnosis, we’ve been motivated to enjoy more of the fun things in life than ever before … and we need more time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

