NHS Employers celebrate Dementia Awareness week

You may or may not be aware that when I was diagnosed I was still working for the NHS full time at St James Hospital Leeds. Due to the lack of understanding and knowledge amongst managers around the support needed for those living with dementia whilst still at work, I met with NHS Employers to discuss the way forward.

A few weeks ago I saw Ruth Warden again as I’d sent NHS Employers an invite to attend the launch of the Alzheimers society Guide for Employers. Well I’m please to say that they’ve chosen this week – Dementia Awareness Week – to be the week they release new resources on their web site for supporting staff to continue to work well with dementia and they’ve included an article I wrote for them as well. So I’m pleased to see the NHS listen and act when they say they will. It came too late for me but thankfully others should have a better experience as now help is out there for managers.

Link to the web site

http://www.nhsemployers.org/news/2015/05/dementia-awareness-week-18-may-2015

Link to my article:

http://www.nhsemployers.org/blog/2015/05/expert-in-alzheimers

Link to Alzheimers Guide for Employers:

http://www.alzheimers.org.uk/site/scripts/documents_info.php?documentID=2963

image

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

3 thoughts on “NHS Employers celebrate Dementia Awareness week

  1. Thank you for the kind words on behalf of us all at NHS Employers Wendy.
    We hope that the resources we’ve created help to raise some awareness and are helpful to those that need them. #DAW2015 #DoSomethingNew

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

