Fitbit – more technology

I’ve realised new issues exist since I retired. Namely, I forget to eat or think I’ve not eaten when I have and I now don’t know how much exercise I’m getting and whether I’m getting enough. You may think it all sounds odd but that’s just how it is.

The lack of knowledge around exercise is because when I was at work I knew I used to walk so many miles to and from the bus stop at each end of the day, so add this to all the normal comings and goings and I knew I was OK. Once that stopped I had no concept of the amount of walking I have done.
The forgetting to eat or not knowing if I have is simply down to memory.

Well now I’ve found the answer to both issues in the form of fitness technology. I’ve bought myself a Fitbit Charge.

simple yet effective
Simple yet effective

It works via an app on my iPad. It tells you how far you’ve walked and whether you’ve done enough for the day. It will tell you if you have eaten enough to balance the amount of energy you’ve used for the day – you have to remember to record the food but because it’s on my iPad I seem to remember – just goes to show how much time I spend on my iPad!!
It also tells you the quality of sleep you’ve had – that must work via movement because I tried fooling it one day and it wasn’t fooled – very clever…….
It tells me if I’ve had enough to drink each day too. So it serves as a great reminder and once again technology has saved the day and solved what could have been serious problems.

The good thing about it for the future and which would make it good for other people is that family or friends can have access to it and monitor your stats to see how you’re sleeping or add what you’re eating etc – Result! Lots of possibilities……

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

4 thoughts on “Fitbit – more technology

  1. Welcome to the world of Fitbit Wendy! I love mine. You’ll have to join me in a Fitbit group for and we can share our progress. Lovely to read your blog as always. Clare x

    Like

  2. Gosh how interesting Wendy, it could also help carers who are responsible for for everything their other half does, will check it out. We were delighted with Jim,s interview hope you were with yours too Veronica

    Like

Leave a Reply

