Advantages of Twitter

It was such a shame that research wasn’t mentioned during the Victoria Derbyshire interview. I had the words ‘Join Dementia Research’ stored at the ready but time just ran out…

Since joining the realms of Twitter I’ve found it a useful source for new research theories – it seems to hold a wealth of information and is the first place you see things. I never thought I’d hear myself say this, but I love it!

Only the other day I saw on the news about the Lancet now declaring that low weight people were more at risk of dementia than overweight………I went onto Twitter to see more. I loved the tweet that said it all really by @ProfJuneAndrews:

 ‘Being alive in later life associated with increase risk of dementia’

– haha! All that research said to me is what we already know – that more money needs to be spent on research.

It was really encouraging to see the latest research news stating they’d found encouraging research:

New mechanism uncovered in the development of Alzheimer’s disease: is arginine the key?

Obviously it is in its’ very early stages but it highlights to me that they are heading in the right direction. The Alzheimer society were quick to explain the results clearly, which always helps.  More can be found at:

http://www.alzheimers.org.uk/site/scripts/documents_info.php?documentID=2354&categoryID=200424&pageNumber=10&utm_campaign=Research_18.04.15&utm_content=12351057471&utm_medium=Enewsletter&utm_source=Smartfocus

Below are some examples of Twitter storing a wealth of information as information comes out about new findings:

Piers Kotting , programme director for NIHR, tweeted about an article in the Telegraph on the 2nd April : ‘A cancer drug that was shelved by AstraZeneca has shown early promise in the treatment of Alzheimer’s Disease’.
Scientists at Yale University have reported that the drug, known as AZD0530, restored memory in mice suffering from the disease.
The findings, published in Annals of Neurology, said the drug worked by blocking a process which breaks the nerve connections used to store memories in the brain. The damage in question is triggered by a harmful plaque known as beta amyloid, which is thought to be one of the leading causes of the debilitating neurological disease.’

Dementiatoday.com is another interesting read – they tweeted:

‘Research on Ginkgo biloba products:
Together with researchers at the Technical University of Berlin (TU Berlin), IQWiG researchers carried out an assessment of Ginkgo-based products. These herbal preparations are made from the leaves of the Ginkgo biloba tree. They are believed to have various benefits, such as improving blood circulation and protecting nerve cells. Ginkgo products are available without a prescription. In Germany, they can also be prescribed by doctors for people who have Alzheimer’s disease.’

On 28th March Adam Smith from Join Dementia Research tweeted a link to the news about aduncanumab in the Daily Mail:
‘The trial shows that aduncanumab significantly reduces amyloid plaque – clumps of protein typically found in the brains of Alzheimer’s patients.
This plaque can lead to the death of nerve cells and loss of brain tissue, causing devastating symptoms such as memory loss and personality changes.
Dr Eric Karran, director of research at Alzheimer’s Research UK, says the drug could prove an effective – and safe – treatment.
He adds: ‘These are very promising early results. It will be important to see results from much larger trials before we can understand how effective this treatment may be.’

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-3016013/Boost-Alzheimer-s-patients-drug-trial-success-New-treatment-reverses-damage-brain-caused-disease.html#ixzz3W8SKgraf

Of course, the obvious place to look for new research studies in this country is Join Dementia Research:

https://www.joindementiaresearch.nihr.ac.uk

logo2

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

2 thoughts on “Advantages of Twitter

Leave a Reply

