Report back on the husting

Well the day didn’t start off well as ratbags had stolen the cable at Retford so trains were running over an hour late. This meant I had just minutes to spare when I got there, so couldn’t go round and say hello to everyone and get settled in before it started. However, I met Philly Hare from the Joseph Rowntree Trust in York for the first time before proceedings which was lovely and many other people came to say hello (sorry names escape me!). Hilary Doxford was there as was Keith Oliver so I knew everything was in good hands.

Jeremy Hunt for the Conservatives, Paul Bairstow for Lib Dems and Philip Hunt for Labour all took their stand and Tanya Bryer was the host.
I hadn’t realised that questions would be set and allocated which was disappointing as it meant I couldn’t ask mine. However, those lucky enough to have a question asked the right ones, so all was not lost! There were 3 minutes at the end to open it up to the audience but that only left time for 1 question……I suppose even a whole day wouldn’t have been long enough but hey ho, at least pertinent points were made. Just a tad disappointing.
I think the comfort I gained from the husting was that all parties are of the same opinion; that services need to be more joined up with ideally one budget instead of lots of different pots; emphasis on awareness and developing community friendly strategies; more to be spent on research (both into finding a cure but also for new treatments for living well); inconsistencies in support across the country needs addressing; and acceptance of dementia to reduce the stigma by working with people with dementia etc etc.

I’m sure lots more was discussed…… It was worth going down to London for, a good experience,  but could have been longer. The time past very quickly and before we knew it we were clapping Jeremy Hughes (chief executive of Alzheimer’s Society) for the final speech.
What I did discover is that I can’t tweet and listen –ha! I saw Jeremy tweeting during the proceedings but I just couldn’t do both things at once – ah well, another time maybe:))

image

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

Leave a Reply

