Live on BBC2 tomorrow – scary!

I wrote a blog some time ago about the wonderful Jim Reed from the BBC. He’d asked me, Keith Oliver and Veronica and Christopher Devas to record a video diary. Well, the short film Jim has put together from all our ramblings is now being shown on BBC2 tomorrow.

It also means I finally get to meet Keith Oliver and his wife. His was the first video I saw on YouTube which made me accept I did have Alzheimer’s.

The programme is part of the new Victoria Derbyshire series on BBC2,  9.15-11 in the morning. After the showing of the film there will be a discussion involving myself, Keith, Jeremy Hughes (Chief exec of the Alzheimer’s Society) and Joy Watson and her family. All of us actively promote awareness of dementia on a daily basis through many different mediums.

My part in the video diaries was on living in the early stages of dementia, Keith’s in the middle stages and Christopher on being cared for by Veronica. I hope you find our filming enlightening……….

Hadn’t twigged it would be a  live broadcast – never done a live interview before so trying not to think about it. I just say ‘yes’ to everything to grasp every opportunity to raise awareness. Let’s hope my brain is having a good day in the morning..………it will also be available on BBC IPLayer….q

I’ll tell you how it went tomorrow hopefully!……

Billy giving me his support
Billy giving me his support

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

7 thoughts on “Live on BBC2 tomorrow – scary!

  1. I wish you well, Wendy, and trust that you will be your usual articulate, passionate self.
    I have long consoled myself with the thought that if I forget something I had wanted to say I am the only person that knows that and sometimes what I have missed is somehow taken up by another speaker anyway – a kind of osmosis takes place.
    With all good wishes as always, Barbara

    Like

Leave a Reply

