Fundraising event in London

 

The Alzheimer’s Society is the one constant support for all of us  when local services may be in confusion, but without donations it wouldn’t survive. Last week they invited me to the launch of their new initiative to raise more much needed funds. It was in the amazing setting of the Serpentine Slacker Gallery in London.

The Alzheimer’s Society has some bold and ambitious plans this year – all with the single aim of supporting people like me. It needs to raise tens of millions of pounds to do this. There were many inspiring speeches, none more so than by Hilary Doxford who was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s in 2012 and who has recently been appointed to the World Dementia council – the only person with dementia on the board, might I add.
I thought I’d have no problem coping and chatting with a room full of people in an unfamiliar room for a couple of hours in the evening but how I misjudged what dementia does to the brain. I was fine and full of enthusiasm when I got there, but as the great and good began to arrive, the room became overwhelmingly noisy and confusing. By the end it had just got too much and I had to sit down. I’d forgotten my alarms would go off as usual (discreetly luckily!) but of course, I couldn’t action them which caused me more confusion.
It’s amazing how you take things for granted.
Everyone out there, appreciate your brain as you never know when you’re going to lose some of it!

I feel like I let the side down, especially after the great hotel they put me in, and will have to double my efforts elsewhere in more familiar surroundings to make amends.
Having said that, I met with Michelle Frausing at Devon House (Alzheimer’s Headquarters) the following day to discuss being involved in this years Alzheimer’s Memory Walk, so maybe I’ve started making amends already………….

A BIG thank you to all my heroes at the Alzheimers society
A BIG thank you to all my heroes at the Alzheimer’s Society
About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

2 thoughts on “Fundraising event in London

Leave a Reply

