Filming at Bradford University

What a wonderful afternoon I had in Bradford! Bradford University is renowned as a centre of excellence in dementia research. Professor Murna Downs leads a wonderful team of staff who are so devoted to finding better ways of living with dementia. The Alzheimer’s Society funds some of their research.

The aim of the day was to record some interviews with those living with dementia and some with carers. The films would then be put into a format which would allow them to be shown to those working in the healthcare sector – both clinical and non clinical staff. I arrived just in time for lunch – always a good move…….. It’s always nice to meet others with dementia as we’re such positive people and today was no different. The majority of people seem to be from the Bradford area so it was nice to meet new folk, each with their own story to tell. We’re a wealth of information for projects such as this, after all we have a wealth of experience and expertise.

All the staff were wonderful. After lunch I was interviewed. I wish I could remember all the team’s names to mention but sadly I can’t. They’d kindly sent a list of the sort of questions they wanted to ask ahead of time, which is always good, so I’d prepared some responses. The good thing about the filming was that the ones taking the film were media students – how amazing to involve students from a totally unrelated department! They were all saying how much they’d learnt just from this small exercise – magic.

I remember talking a lot about living well with dementia is all about ‘adapting’. Accepting the need to adapt. Adapting to doing things differently to compensate for the effects the disease has thrust upon us. These simple adaptions can enable us to live better for longer. People around us shouldn’t assume we can’t do things; they should instead help us to find ways to do things differently in order to keep doing things independently. Next week I’ll write a blog on how I’ve adapted things so far.

Filming had been taking place all day so different people had been coming and going. Some of us met afterwards for a debrief which was equally interesting – they might have missed a trick there, as filming us sat chatting over a cuppa would have made a good glimpse into our world in a more relaxed setting……..

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

2 thoughts on “Filming at Bradford University

  1. Wendy, I’m so glad you enjoyed the time you spent with us at Bradford University. I really enjoyed meeting and talking to you. I’m looking at the film today and feel quite honoured to be able to listen to what people have so generously shared with us. We are really keen that people hear about the impact of dementia from those who actually live with it like yourself. I am sure it will make a difference. You are right that a lot of very important things were said over lunch when everyone was more relaxed – none of that was wasted though as we often share what we’ve learned (without giving names) to help raise awareness by giving real life examples.
    We walked out to get your train together after filming, I hope you caught it in good time as I have a tendency to talk a lot! Thanks again Wendy, best wishes from Clare at the School of Dementia Studies, Bradford.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wonderful to hear from you Clare! It was fabulous to meet you all as you do a wonderful job at Bradford. I feel lucky to have been part of the day and to be able to contribute. Hope to see you again!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

