Day to day reality

Last Thursday saw BBC Breakfast report on the work being done in Scotland for those with dementia.It showed a mock up bedroom, living room and kitchen with so many useful ideas to help those with dementia. I liked the glass fronted kitchen cupboards to show clearly what’s in them as things don’t exist when they’re behind doors (hence me buying 10 cheese graters……another story) During the programme they showed some very personal but brilliant video diaries made by people living with dementia.
I was hoping to provide a link to watch them but you can’t get BBC Breakfast on IPlayer for some bizarre reason which is such a shame. Hopefully someone will think to put them on You Tube as they gave such a good insight in what it’s like living on a day-to-day basis – I thought they were all brilliant. One lady was out running with her husband – she always took a £10 note and her phone in case she got lost and had to get a taxi. Another played golf with his wife, but spoke of the frustration and complex nature of the disease which meant he would forget to kiss his wife and ask how she was. The final lady spoke of living with her husband being like living with a child but without all the joy that can bring. Very real stories spoken so eloquently and openly by all concerned.

University of Stirling has some brilliant ideas on designs for the home for those living with dementia – take a look:

http://dementia.stir.ac.uk/design/good-practice-guidelines/kitchens

Finally, the reporter read out the message one had printed on a T-shirt – it read:

I won’t live long enough to see a world without dementia, but I’d like to see a world that finally accepts those living with dementia.

Perfect message.

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

5 thoughts on “Day to day reality

Leave a Reply

