My WOW day at Still Alice Premier

Well, where do I start……..what an amazing surreal day I had yesterday.

I arrived at the theatre in Mayfair to find the entrance blocked by cameramen waiting for me Julianne Moore’s arrival. I phoned Katie from the Alzheimers’ society to come and get me! Once we’d all arrived – Christopher and his wife Veronica, Gillian with her support worker Angie – we all had our photos taken in front of the Still Alice board by ‘Dolly’ the official photographer. Veronica and Katie showed me photos of their cats and asked me to pass on their regards to Billy………
We were shielded from the crowds as we were allowed to sit in the journalists area. The producer of the film appeared as did a few other familiar faces – their names escape me but it was fun watching all the comings and goings.
Julianne was fashionably late – we knew she’d arrived as all the camera flashes started going off! The journalists lined up according to their ‘time allowed’ with her. Tom from The Guardian and Radio 4 were the last in the queue as they had most time allotted. Victoria from Channel 4 news came over to say hello to me ( interview being broadcast tonight on Channel 4 news), as did Tom from the Guardian (article to appear in the next 2 weeks) – everyone was so nice and friendly. Because we were in the journalists bit we could take photos as and when space allowed of Julianne being interviewed down the line of journalists.

Julianne went off to introduce the film and I was interviewed by another Tom from Radio 4’s Today programme.  He also interviewed Julianne and the Chief exec of the Alzheimer’s society, Jeremy Hughes.
Then came our special moment – we had Julianne all to ourselves for a chat. She was so refreshingly normal and unpretentious and chatted to us like we’d known each other forever. She had obviously done lots of research for the role and told us many stories – all of which I’ve forgotten now!!. I told her she had the advantage over the 3 of us as she could, if she chose to, remember our meeting, whereas we’ll forget and that’s why we wanted to take loads of photos and have her sign things for us – to which she readily agreed. She didn’t rush us and happily signed our Still Alice books – she also signed 2 of my blog cards for Sarah and Gemma.
She then insisted (not that we protested –ha!) on having a photo taken with each of us individually as well as in a group. Many, many photos were taken and all are being sent to us.
As she said goodbye, she called us each by our name – another nice touch and then she was whisked away.

I then finished my interview with Radio 4 – which was broadcast this morning. We were also interviewed by the Alzheimer’s society for the web site and they should appear in the next few days. Lots of the day is a blur as there was so much to take in but all in all, a wonderful day.

Seems amazing that I’ve just written all that – just another ordinary day living well with Alzheimers…………….let’s hope the film raises oodles of awareness…… The reason I write this journal and took so many photos is to help the memories last longer…….

http://www.alzheimers.org.uk/site/scripts/news_article.php?newsID=2309

http://blogs.channel4.com/victoria-macdonald-on-health-and-social-care/earlyonset-alzheimers-sufferer-sees-future/2755

Me and Julianne Moore(!!)
Me and Julianne Moore(!!)
About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

4 thoughts on “My WOW day at Still Alice Premier

  1. What an honour for you and a true inspiration to all. And now a personal mention at the BAFTAs by Julianne when she won Best Leading Actrss for her role as Alice. What a fantastic day with plenty of photographs of it all.xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

