Lasting Power of Attorney

The Martin Lewis Money Show on Friday 23rd January advocated the need for everyone to take out a Lasting Power of Attorney. He’s 42 and he’s got one. None knows what is round the corner. I did mine myself – it does seem overwhelming when you get the form but if you work through it in small chunks it is as straight forward as any official form can be. There’s lots of help online. You can do one through a solicitor but it will obviously cost you a fee in addition to the £110 to register but it’s a small price to pay for peace of mind. Whatever it costs you it is nowhere near the cost to loved ones of unravelling finances if you can no longer look after your own affairs. Unless you’ve a Power of Attorney already, loved ones need to apply through court, which can be long and costly.

There are 2 types of Lasting Power of Attorney – one for health and the other for finance. I’ve done both so my daughters know exactly what I want to happen when I no longer have capacity. Some people put off having one because they think others have control over what happens immediately – this isn’t the case. It comes into its own only once you lose the capacity to make decisions. It is also a great opportunity to talk to loved ones about your wishes for the future – a difficult conversation but well worth having while you’re well.

You can only set up a Lasting Power of Attorney when you have mental capacity. Once you’ve lost capacity, it’s too late.

The Alzheimer’s society has an excellent section on its web site:

http://www.alzheimers.org.uk/site/scripts/documents_info.php?documentID=154

but if you need further evidence that it’s not just for those with dementia then you can read about it from Martin Lewis on the link below

http://www.moneysavingexpert.com/family/power-of-attorney?utm_source=MSE_Newsletter&utm_medium=Email&utm_term=04-Jun-13&utm_campaign=family&utm_content=43

image

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

3 thoughts on “Lasting Power of Attorney

  1. Yes very well put, the health and welfare one is very important, but I think they are now together. The Attendance Allowance is also very important when you start out as this then allows a disabled Rail Card and also many concessions at public venues , we only came across this the other day when getting tickets for the Albert Hall, you are considered disabled even without a blue card, as you need someone to go with you to look after you.

    Keep going forward as Christopher would say !!

    Veronica

    Like

Leave a Reply

