A glimpse into my night time world of dementia

 

image

Hey diddle diddle, the cat and the fiddle
The cow jumped over the moon.
In the still of the night

Twinkle twinkle little star
Oh how scary you all are
In the still of the night

To decipher reality
Is an impossible task
In the still of the night

When the drugs take over or
maybe a trick of the light
In the still of the night

The sounds and voices of loved ones long gone
Play tricks, cruel tricks in your mind
In the still of the night

Those long gone become alive once more
And waking brings terror and confusion
In the still of the night

Is it the drugs or disease
playing tricks in your head
in the still of the night

As girls and boys come out to play
Among faces from the past
In the still of the night

Sounds and voices trick the mind
And seem so clear
In the still of the night

Bizarre images appear from nowhere
And dance before you
In the still of the night

A myriad of dreams chase the tales of three blind mice
And the cow jumped over the moon
In the still of the night

Only daylight and time to adjust the brain
Will answer the questions raised
in the still of the night

To be real or not to be real,
that is the question
In the still of the night

Trying to calm the racing brain
And work out what was real and what was not
In the still of dawn

Good job I don’t have much of a short term memory……..

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

3 thoughts on “A glimpse into my night time world of dementia

  1. I’ve been reading your blog with great interest. Last year my mum died after battling dementia and it was often difficult for me to understand how she was feeling, your blog is so enlightening. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and feelings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

