People with dementia making a positive contribution to change – Part 2

A continuation of my blog from yesterday about my first visit to my local dementia forum last week – a group for people with dementia who want to make a difference – a voice for those with dementia.

They often invite guest speakers. At this meeting there were 2 students from Hull University who are just embarking on their journey into dementia research. They were there to promote their research but also to look for volunteers from York. They have chosen to do their research on positive aspects of living with dementia – how refreshing 🙂

Helen had chosen the topic of ‘exploring the shared experience of humour in people with dementia and their partners’ and Kirsty is working on ‘a study of positive experiences whilst living with dementia’. Needless to say, they got their volunteers……and they promised to return once they’d completed their research.

I hope they found our enthusiasm infectious as it’s refreshing to have fledgling students focus on the positive aspects of living with dementia. We must do all we can to encourage young students into the field of dementia research as they are our future

There was also a psychologist from our local memory service. After hearing all our comments and experiences of the service he acknowledged that the service was far from perfect and was in need of a revamp. He has asked us to work with them in the redesign – a very positive outcome.

This meeting only lasted 90 minutes, but I came out full of hope and admiration for the work achieved so far and look forward to being part of their future involvement in bringing about changes in our community.

Never one to miss an opportunity, I’d also taken leaflets for all around signing up to Join Dementia Research as this was useful for those with the condition, the students and the psychologist from the memory clinic….

logo2

www.joindementiaresearch.nihr.org.uk

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

2 thoughts on “People with dementia making a positive contribution to change – Part 2

  1. Hi Wendy

    I’ve been reading your blog with interest since hearing you speak at the Women and Dementia event in York. We are about to hold our first dementia-friendly performance at West Yorkshire Playhouse in Leeds (Tuesday 16 December, 2pm) and I wonder if you would be interested in coming along to see what we do and maybe to share your thoughts in a blog?

    We’ve been consulting with people living with dementia from Stockport’s EDUCATE group, Leeds Peer Support Service and Leeds Dementia Action Alliance to make sensitive adjustments to the theatre experience.

    I know you’re very busy but if you could make it, I would love to see you there and would arrange a ticket for you and a guest.

    You’d be very welcome to bring any leaflets on Join Dementia Research to share with other audience members at our information stand.

    Let me know what you think.
    Best wishes
    Nicky Taylor

    Like

Leave a Reply

