A whole new world: technology and me

I’ve never really found new technology very appealing. I’ve never wanted the latest gadget or latest model. The reason used to be cost but now, what you’ve never had you never miss 🙂 I enjoy listening to others enthuse on the subject and their excitement is infectious but I’ve never aspired to owning any of it. I’ve been content with the simplicity of my uncluttered existence.

For example, people often chuckle at my ‘brick’ of a phone and some youngsters even wonder as to it’s function if they’ve seen my particular ‘model’ – but it serves it’s purpose. I text, I ring people – it does the job.

Recently, my ancient laptop (I know it’s old by the weight of it – ha!) has become very cumbersome and difficult to use. I have a wonderful friend, Helen, who is a guru in all things ‘Apple’. She’s got enthusiasm by the lorry load and a willingness to transcend that barrier of ignorance and guide me to new frontiers.

(Deviating slightly – I have an alarm that goes off each night at 8pm when I need to take my medication – up pops the word ‘tablet’ as a reminder………Imagine my total confusion when the same word popped up last Saturday morning. I wandered round the house for a good 10 minutes trying to work out what medication I was due……….it was a reminder to go and meet Helen to look at ‘tablets’…..Mental note – must be more specific on alarm reminders….ha!)

Back to the story – I now find it difficult to learn new things so we knew it was important to see if I could navigate the touch screen technology of a tablet. What I hadn’t twigged was I never use a mouse on my laptop – I use the square, touchy thing instead of the mouse, so the slidy technology of an iPad seemed to be ok. Hmmm, now I’m reading that back, that should tell you all you need to know about the limits of my technical terminology….:)

I asked Helen to advise me as to the best tablet to get. Before I could show a nano second of hesitation we were ensconced in this enormous Apple store (I could say at this point, ‘with not an apple in sight’, but I won’t), surrounded by an array of alien goods.

The guy that helped us was very patient and reduced from 6th gear down to first when he saw the dazed look on my face. I needed:

Keyboard – tick; lightweight – tick; will I have problems remembering security code….thumb recognition – tick.

We played, Helen demonstrated, I forgot, Helen demonstrated again…….her enthusiasm was infectious. “I’ll have one” – I might get lost many times over and I might lose my APs (not even sure what they are yet!) but I’m sure Helen will help me find them again.

So here I am, blogging happily on my new toy and I’m almost competent (well, that may be a slight exaggeration) with the slidy, touchy screen technology thingy.

Thank you Helen! I’m suddenly ‘cool’ – I’ve never been ‘cool’ in my life……..

For the sceptics amongst you – what do you mean ‘how can you do that, you’ve got Alzheimer’s….?’ Haha! I can do anything!

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

One thought on “A whole new world: technology and me

Leave a Reply

