Another WOW day with the Alzheimer’s Society

poppies

I was invited to go down to London again last week to take part in an afternoon dedicated to Research Monitoring, a project where people affected by dementia regularly meet with researchers who have received funding from Alzheimer’s Society. The aim is to ensure that their projects are still meeting the criteria that got them their funding in the first place (not going off track into other areas, for example).

After my experience last time on the tube, I was ready for the chaos and trauma of the underground. I arrived in plenty of time so I could take my time and allow trains to come and go until I was confident of the one I had to catch. It was exactly the same experience as last time but with me in control so I felt less panic-stricken.

I saw the last of the poppies – still an amazing and emotional sight but for a different reasons. There was poignancy in the fact that only a fraction of the poppies were left standing.

At the office I met more wonderful people. We learned about the grant process and how to support the different groups of researchers from fledgling PhD students to full scale projects. We all had one thing in common – our passion to do something to contribute to research into dementia. Dementia had touched all our lives but in different ways. It was fascinating to hear other people’s stories as most of them were or had been carers. It’s always fascinating to hear the other perspective of living with dementia and we can all learn so much fro one another. Again, people offered me help and advice, checking that I was on medication and had I heard of this and that. Wonderful, wonderful people.

During lunch, Jess from the Alzheimer’s Society came in to say hello. After reading my blog ‘The trials of travelling’ she’d  taken the trouble to send that blog to London Transport, asking them if they had a dementia friendly policy. I still can’t get over the power of the internet…….

I left itching to get my first monitoring assignment. I’d love to get a fledgling PhD student just starting out on their journey into dementia research – I hope you’re reading this Matt……:))

Poppy 2

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

One thought on “Another WOW day with the Alzheimer’s Society

  1. ola Wendy your BLOGS are blowing me away.We have so much in common that we must meet soon please. I live in Hull with my super wife and York is a bus ride away! Adios Colin

    Like

Leave a Reply

