Pictures of dementia

mum

I see so many pictures of people with dementia yet they’re nearly all of people so much older than me. The campaign for early diagnosis will start to bring the average age down of those with the condition.  The image people have in their head tends to be one of an elderly person  in a nursing home, lonely and in a world of their own. Whilst, tragically many cases like this do still exist, I can assure you there are many people with dementia out in this small world of ours, determined to ‘outdo’ this cruel condition; determined to make the most of life and make valuable contributions. Determined to bring about change and raise awareness

I hope I’m one of those people. Next time you think of someone with dementia, don’t think of someone with no hope in their lives –  think of me instead. As you can see, I haven’t suddenly grown 2 heads and I can still smile and be happy.

A windswept me walking along the Cleveland Way on the East Yorkshire coast
A windswept me walking along the Cleveland Way on the East Yorkshire coast
Billy can't resist a photo opportunity!
Billy can’t resist a photo opportunity!
About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

2 thoughts on “Pictures of dementia

  1. No matter what, you’ve always had a smile on your face and that’s our Wendy! I will always remember the day I had to come in and see you whilst I was in the depths of anxiety. You calmed me down, made me laugh about my sweating, foot-tapping and total inability to sit still on the swivel chair. You made me face my colleagues and my problems and I moved forward. Thank you Wendy for being an inspiration and a friend.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

