Isn’t the brain a wonderful thing?

I’ve always been a great believer in the fact that the body will let you know what you’re deficient in by making you crave certain foods. I remember one time in hospital I craved a fish finger sandwich……………I’d never eaten a fish finger sandwich in my life but it was the first thing I made when I was discharged – I felt better immediately. How bizarre or pure coincidence, who knows? Another time when they’d starved me for 7 days, all I craved was tomatoes. I had these as my first meal in hospital and they were wonderful and I immediately felt refreshed. Yes, I know I hadn’t had anything for 7 days and almost anything would have done, but my body craved tomatoes. Tomatoes are packed full of vitamins, flavanoids (natural anti-inflammatory) and an antioxidant lypocene, which helps to mop up damaging free radicals in the body that can harm our cells. So this is what my body needed at the time.

I remember reading somewhere lately of someone with early onset dementia suddenly wanting to drink coffee when she’d never liked coffee before – maybe her body’s way of trying to find a way to stay alert.

Those who know me know I’ve never ever eaten nuts – have never been able to stomach them……………well suddenly I can’t get enough of them. It wasn’t a conscious decision either. Research shows that a diet involving nuts helps prevent dementia…………damn……….body was late recognising that fact…….

I think I’ll work with the idea that it’s never too late………….have a fabulous weekend:)

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

2 thoughts on “Isn’t the brain a wonderful thing?

Leave a Reply

