Early diagnosis and new beginnings

31st July 2014 – the day I sat in the consultant’s room and received the official diagnosis. It wasn’t a surprise as we’d frequently spoken about the outcome in those terms. However, there’s always this slight hope in the back of your mind that they’d made a mistake and have now found the real cause of your symptoms. It wasn’t to be.

Some people may not want to know they have dementia – I was actually relieved to have a diagnosis. It meant I could finally bring a closure to all the uncertainty, to all the ‘what ifs’ , ‘buts’ and ‘maybes’. It enables you to look at life from a new perspective and to plan and take up challenges that might otherwise never have crossed your path. For example, talented researchers may be on the brink of a new breakthrough.  An early diagnosis has given me the opportunity to go on medication which may give me long enough to benefit from such discoveries.

It has also given me the opportunity to sit down and talk honestly and openly with my daughters and plan my future, which in turn has relieved them from having to make those difficult emotional decisions around my care and future treatment.  If more people had the same early diagnosis they too could plan their own future care and enjoy life while they still had the mental capacity to do so. It must be so difficult for loved ones to feel they’re making the ‘right’ decision if no discussions have taken place.

After the recent announcement that GP’s would get £50 for each patient diagnosed with dementia, my initial reaction was ‘any publicity is good publicity’ but I also wondered how many GP’s would find this an insult and yet another target to meet. Surely the vast majority of GP’s don’t need an incentive to diagnose…………I think one of the major hurdles to overcome is getting people to go the the GP in the first place and not being afraid to admit they may need help. After all there is still a stigma attached to the diagnosis of dementia for some people.

One Saturday a couple of weeks ago we sat down together and went through the difficult task of completing the Lasting Powers of Attorney. We were all drained at the end but at least we now have everything on paper. Receiving the diagnosis was just as difficult for them as it was for me but we’ve supported and protected each other through this. Needless to say they’re not just my rock, they’re my mountains and I wouldn’t be in the state I am today if it wasn’t for their love and support – it might also have something to do with me making a pretty mean Afternoon Tea as well…………….:)

A well deserved afternoon tea
A well deserved afternoon tea

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

3 thoughts on “Early diagnosis and new beginnings

  1. I so admire you for doing this Wendy. For various reasons, as a family we didn’t and it is a real regret. I’m sure it was hard but so much better for all of you. The afternoon tea looks great by the way!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

