The advantages of living with Alzheimer’s…………

After my 3am rant yesterday, today the tangles in my brain seem less knotty and my head feels calmer. Having reduced the Donepezil from 10mg back down to 5mg seems to have calmed down the drug-fuelled party that was going on in my head and all the revelers appear to be sleeping, leaving me to feel calmer.

That led me to thinking that I should tell you all about the advantages of living with Alzheimer’s. I can hear the stunned silence………….has the woman finally lost the plot? how could there possibly be any advantages, I hear you say….:)

Well, with a condition with no cure, and an inevitability of losing ‘me’, you have to keep a tight grasp and cling onto any positives for dear life.

The Great British Bake Off, a UK TV programme, may not be to everyone’s taste – although why, I can’t imagine. And it’s here that those of you without Alzheimer’s are at a clear disadvantage. Remember the final, when the whole glorious series came to an end? Remember the sadness you felt at the realisation that next week there would be a massive black hole in your life? Well, not for me, I say very smuggly 🙂 I can watch back to back series over and over again and still not remember who won – result! – a never ending series of ‘Bake Off’ – heaven:)

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

2 thoughts on “The advantages of living with Alzheimer’s…………

Leave a Reply

